If you have an emergency, call 911 or 362-5111.
If you do not have an emergency but would like an officer response you can call 362-5115. Or you can view our contact page here
In America, the actions of an impaired driver result in a death every 30 minutes, and an injury every two minutes. In other words, everybody is at risk - which means you, your family or friends could be next!
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s annual December educational campaign of National Drunk and Drugged Driving (3D) Prevention Month is again upon us. During the “3D” Month, the Rancho Cordova Police Department is committed to reducing alcohol and drug-related traffic deaths by sending the message: Make the right choice, don’t drink and drive. Know the facts about impaired driving! The following quiz is designed to test your knowledge on the basics of DUI.
Alcohol is a powerful drug, medically classified as a depressant, which affects you physically. When an alcoholic beverage is consumed, it does not need to be digested. Therefore, it is quickly absorbed into the bloodstream, and is slowly processed by the liver until it is removed from your body. Alcohol slows the thought processes in the brain, numbs brain cells and affects all major organs. Additionally, alcohol affects your driving skills, because it affects the central nervous system. This leads to:
The physical impact that alcohol may create results in a tolerance for increasing amounts to feel the same effects; dependence for regular doses in order to function both mentally and physically; and withdrawal symptoms occur both physically and mentally when consumption is either reduced or stopped.
Driving while under the influence of alcohol is illegal throughout the United States. In California, Section 23152 of the Vehicle Code establishes the crime of DUI. The Section states it unlawful for any person who is under the influence of any alcoholic beverage or drug, or under the combined influence of any alcoholic beverage and drug, to drive a vehicle. The Section further defines a violation of this law that it is unlawful for a driver of a vehicle to have a BAC of 0.08 percent, and a driver of a commercial vehicle to have a BAC of 0.04 percent. Section 23140 of the Vehicle Code addresses drivers under the age of 21 years and provides that it is unlawful for those persons to drive with a BAC of 0.05 percent.
So, how many drinks does it take to reach a BAC to be legally under the influence? There are several factors that contribute to a person’s level of impairment. A person’s body weight, the amount of food that has been consumed, how fast alcoholic beverages are consumed, and a person’s mood can all play a role. Also, the different types of alcoholic beverages consumed make a difference. Twelve ounces of beer has 5 percent alcohol, 5 ounces of table wine has 12 percent alcohol, and 1.5 ounces of 80-proof liquor has 40 percent alcohol. All of these have about the same amount of pure alcohol, which is approximately 0.6 ounces.
As an example, a 160-pound individual who consumes three alcoholic beverages within a one-hour time span will likely register a BAC of approximately 0.09 percent. A 120-pound individual who consumes four alcoholic beverages within a one-hour time span will likely register a BAC of 0.16 percent. In both examples, the individuals would be above the legal limit of intoxication in California. These figures are to be used as a guide only. For some people, even one drink could be too many!
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and law enforcement agencies across the country practice a zero tolerance policy toward underage drivers and alcohol. In California, the Zero Tolerance Law was enacted in 1993, to reduce the disproportionately high number of alcohol-related traffic collisions involving the under 21 year-old driver.
Sections 23136 and 23137 of the Vehicle Code have established zero tolerance as a Department of Motor Vehicle’s administrative offense only, and not a violation of criminal law. Enforcement of the Zero Tolerance Law does not relieve officers from the other alcohol-related Vehicle Code enforcement sections. The Zero Tolerance Law may only be enforced when an officer in the field administers a Preliminary Alcohol Screening (PAS) device test to measure the driver’s BAC. If the results of the PAS test are 0.01 percent or higher and the individual is not under the influence of alcohol which would require their arrest, the under 21 year-old driver is subject to the Administrative Per Se Order of Suspension/Revocation of their California driver’s license.
It is common knowledge that alcohol impairment contributes to traffic collisions; however, most people believe that drivers must be "drunk" to be considered a hazard behind the wheel. Actually, the probability of a collision increases with any driver who has a BAC higher than zero and this probability dramatically increases when a driver’s BAC reaches 0.08 percent. Here is something to consider: the likelihood of a car crash increases even before you reach the legal limit of 0.08 percent.
Although a person may appear sober, if they have consumed any amount of alcohol, their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle has likely been impaired. Although alcohol-related collisions tend to peak at night and during the weekend, they can and do occur at all hours of the day and involve individuals from all walks of life.
Convincing a friend or family member to hand over the keys after they have been drinking can sometimes be a less than pleasant experience. Such attempts are often met with open hostility, anger, and even violence. It is still important, however, to make every attempt possible to prevent a loved one from getting behind the wheel when they are under-the-influence.
Offer to drive them home, arrange alternate transportation, or a place for them to sleep. Don’t speak harshly, yell, or do anything else that may cause them to become defensive. Rather, gently coax the keys away, while explaining your concerns about drinking and drive. Make light of the situation, tell a joke, or make up a reason insisting you should be the one to drive. Your attempts may not be well received initially, but chances are, you will have saved someone from serious injury or even death.
There are many myths about quick ways to sober up; the truth is that nothing but time will help sober up someone who has been drinking. Depending on the BAC level, a person’s BAC drops about 0.015 percent per hour, if no more alcoholic drinks are consumed. For a 140-pound person with a BAC of 0.10 percent (approximately 3 alcoholic drinks in one hour), it would take more than 3 hours before that person’s BAC would drop below 0.05 percent and more than 6 hours before all traces of alcohol have been eliminated from the bloodstream.
You Can Stop Impaired Driving!